Angebote zu "Alienist" (7 Treffer)

The Alienist
€ 12.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ? NOW A TNT ORIGINAL SERIES ? ´´A first-rate tale of crime and punishment that will keep readers guessing until the final pages.´´-Entertainment Weekly ´´Caleb Carr´s rich period thriller takes us back to the moment in history when the modern idea of the serial killer became available to us.´´-The Detroit News When The Alienist was first published in 1994, it was a major phenomenon, spending six months on the New York Times bestseller list, receiving critical acclaim, and selling millions of copies. This modern classic continues to be a touchstone of historical suspense fiction for readers everywhere. The year is 1896. The city is New York. Newspaper reporter John Schuyler Moore is summoned by his friend Dr. Laszlo Kreizler-a psychologist, or ´´alienist´´-to view the horribly mutilated body of an adolescent boy abandoned on the unfinished Williamsburg Bridge. From there the two embark on a revolutionary effort in criminology: creating a psychological profile of the perpetrator based on the details of his crimes. Their dangerous quest takes them into the tortured past and twisted mind of a murderer who will kill again before their hunt is over. Fast-paced and riveting, infused with historical detail, The Alienist conjures up Gilded Age New York, with its tenements and mansions, corrupt cops and flamboyant gangsters, shining opera houses and seamy gin mills. It is an age in which questioning society´s belief that all killers are born, not made, could have unexpected and fatal consequences. Praise for The Alienist ´´[A] delicious premise . . . Its settings and characterizations are much more sophisticated than the run-of-the-mill thrillers that line the shelves in bookstores.´´-The Washington Post Book World ´´Mesmerizing.´´-Detroit Free Press ´´The method of the hunt and the disparate team of hunters lift the tale beyond the level of a good thriller-way beyond. . . . A remarkable combination of historical novel and psychological thriller.´´-The Buffalo News ´´Engrossing.´´-Newsweek ´´Gripping, atmospheric . . . intelligent and entertaining.´´-USA Today ´´A high-spirited, charged-up and unfailingly smart thriller.´´-Los Angeles Times ´´Keeps readers turning pages well past their bedtime.´´-San Francisco Chronicle

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Mar 17, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Alienist (eBook, ePUB)
€ 1.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING SENSATION NOW AVAILABLE FOR THE FIRST TIME IN EBOOK Now a major Netflix series starring Luke Evans, Dakota Fanning and Daniel Brühl Over 3 million copies sold worldwide 108,000 Goodreads ratings For fans of Mindhunter and Sherlock Holmes ************************ New York City, 1896 . Hypocrisy in high places is rife, police corruption commonplace, and a brutal killer is terrorising young male prostitutes. Forensics and psychological profiling are still in their infancy, but as the body count rises, Police Commissioner Theodore Roosevelt calls on eminent psychologist or ´alienist´, Dr Laszlo Kreizler and crime reporter John Schuyler Moore to trial these new methods. Kreizler, Moore and their team must venture to the darkest corners of New York - and the human mind - to catch the sadistic killer before they strike again. ************************ ´ The Alienist isn´t only an ingenious thriller. Carr brings enormous gusto to his portrait of old New York´ Independent ´Gripping, atmospheric, intelligent, and entertaining´ USA Today ´Richly atmospheric . . . You can smell the fear in the air´ New York Times

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Mar 17, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Alienist - Die Einkreisung (4 Discs)
€ 18.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Die Serie basiert auf der Romanvorlage ´´Die Einkreisung´´ von Caleb Carr und spielt in New York im Jahre 1896. Hier ereignen sich grausame Dinge und nachdem mehrere schrecklich zugerichtete Leichen junger Männer gefunden werden, übernehmen Psychologe Dr. Kreizler (Daniel Brühl) und Zeitungs-Illustrator Moore (Luke Evans) die Ermittlungen. Eine spannende Jagd beginnt!

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Mar 17, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Alienist - Die Einkreisung, Hörbuch, Digita...
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Die ungekürzte Lesung zur Netflix-Serie ´´Die Einkreisung´´ mit Daniel Brühl, Luke Evans und Dakota Fanning. New York 1896: Unter Polizeichef Theodore Roosevelt kommt es zu einem grauenvollen Mord an einem jungen Prosituierten aus einem der berüchtigsten Bordelle der Stadt, der sich als Teil einer ganzen Mordserie erweist. Mit den Ermittlungen wird Dr. Lazlo Kreisler beauftragt, ein Pionier im Feld der Psychoanalyse. Gegen erbitterte Widerstände und mithilfe des Polizeireporters John Moore und der Polizeisekretärin Sarah Howard gelingt es ihm, mittels eines detaillierten Psychogramms, dem Mörder auf die Schliche zu kommen. Gelesen von Sascha Rotermund, der deutschen Synchronstimme von Luke Evans. >> Diese ungekürzte Hörbuch-Fassung wird Ihnen exklusiv von Audible präsentiert und ist ausschließlich im Download erhältlich 1. Sprache: Deutsch. Erzähler: Sascha Rotermund. Hörprobe: http://samples.audible.de/bk/hoer/002515/bk_hoer_002515_sample.mp3. Digitales Hörbuch im AAX Format.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: Dec 17, 2018
Zum Angebot
The Alienist, Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 243min
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

New York, 1896: Reporter John Moore is summoned to the East River by his friend, psychiatrist Laszlo Kreizler, a brilliant pioneer in the new and much-maligned study of society´s ´´alienated´´ mentally ill. At the river, Moore and Kreizler view the horribly mutilated body of a young male prostitute from one of Manhattan´s infamous brothels. Supervised by the police commissioner, the newsman and his ´´alienist´´ mentor embark on a revolutionary attempt to identify the killer by assembling his psychological profile. Their dangerous quest takes them into the tortured past and twisted mind of a murderer who has killed before...and will kill again. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Edward Herrmann. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/sans/000073/bk_sans_000073_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: Dec 17, 2018
Zum Angebot
The Yard , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 882min
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as ´´The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own... one of the 12.... When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad.... but why? Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Toby Leonard Moore. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/peng/001902/bk_peng_001902_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: Dec 17, 2018
Zum Angebot
The Angel of Darkness , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 15...
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In The Angel Of Darkness, Caleb Carr brings back the vivid world of his bestselling The Alienist but with a twist: this story is told by the former street urchin Stevie Taggert, whose rough life has given him wisdom beyond his years. Thus New York City, and the groundbreaking alienist Dr. Kreizler himself, are seen anew. It is June 1897. A year has passed since Dr. Laszlo Kreizler, a pioneer in forensic psychiatry, tracked down the brutal serial killer John Beecham with the help of a team of trusted companions and a revolutionary application of the principles of his discipline. Kreizler and his friends - high-living crime reporter Schuyler Moore; indomitable, derringer-toting Sara Howard; the brilliant (and bickering) detective brothers Marcus and Lucius Isaacson; powerful and compassionate Cyrus Montrose; and Stevie Taggert, the boy Kreizler saved from a life of street crime - have returned to their former pursuits and tried to forget the horror of the Beecham case. But when the distraught wife of a Spanish diplomat begs Sara´s aid, the team reunites to help her find her kidnapped infant daughter. It is a case fraught with danger, since Spain and the United States are on the verge of war. Their investigation leads the team to a shocking suspect: a woman who appears to the world to be a heroic nurse and a loving mother, but who may in reality be a ruthless murderer of children. Fast-paced and chilling, The Angel Of Darkness is another tour de force from Caleb Carr, a novel of modern evil in old New York. 1. Language: English. Narrator: George Guidall. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/sans/006212/bk_sans_006212_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: Dec 17, 2018
Zum Angebot